Resource More Information

HUD Glossary of Terms and Other Housing Definitions
Phone: N/A

Area(s) Served: Other

Contracted Provider: Not Applicable


HUD Glossary of Terms and Other Housing Definitions

Aging in Place: A term used to describe elderly residents who have lived in their homes or apartments for years who often require more supportive services than when they moved in.

AAHSA: The American Association of Homes and Services for the Aging: the national association for non profit aging service providers. AAHSA currently represents over 5,000 not for profit facilities providing elderly housing and other living arrangements for the elderly. Seventy-five percent of AAHSA member facilities are affiliated with religious organizations. Most of the AAHSA'ss not for profit sponsors of elderly housing are involved in various federal housing programs.

ADA: The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) says no individual shall be discriminated against on the basis of disability in the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages and accommodations of any place of public accommodation.

Assisted Housing: Refers to a stock of privately owned and/or operated housing projects. Most assisted housing for the elderly falls under the following programs: Section 202, Section221 (d) 3, Section236, Section 231 or Section 232

The term Assisted refers to the portfolio of HUD facilities having either FHA-mortgage insurance, or a federal mortgage interest subsidy helps to keep rents affordable to low-or very-low income persons, The projects receive project-based rental assistance.

Assisted Living Conversion Program: Refers to Section 202 owners interested in converting facilities or portions of facilities (no less than 5 units) to licensed assisted living. The grant would cover facility modification and upgrades, including the creation of an office, common areas and/or dining/kitchen facilities needed to operate the program, but the services component must be paid for by other (non-HUD) funds.

At-Risk Elderly Person: In accordance with HUD regulations this is an individual 62 years of age or older who is unable to perform one or two ADLs.

Capital Advance: Created in 1990 a HUD program that assist private, nonprofit corporations to finance the acquisition, construction or rehabilitation of housing for the elderly (Section 202/Prac) or disable (Section811/PRAC). It has a 40 year term and does not have to be paid back, provided the project continues to serve the low-income population for which it was initially intended.

Certification also "Recertification": The documentation and verification process required of HUD managers in order to determine initial income and eligibility during the application process.  The initial certification is used for applicants/new tenants to establish the amount of Rental Assistance Subsidy which the applicant or tenant is eligible to receive. Recertification is required at least once each year. Residents receiving federal rental assistance usually pay 30 percent of their annual adjusted income, and the rental assistance payment (i.e. section 8 or PRAC) makes up the difference between the resident payment and the unit rent level.

Congregate Housing: Apartments or cottages in which residents pay a monthly fee that included rent, utilities, one to three congregate meals daily and including one or more of housekeeping/chore services, 24-hour emergency response, and essential transportation. Personal care services are individually contracted between residents and private vendors.

Congregate Housing Services Program: Began in 1981,CHSP is a program designed to provide meals, expanded services and funding for retrofit and certain modernization activities in housing projects for the frail elderly and non-elderly disabled. Congress renews CHSP existing grantees annually. New competitive grants have not been funded since 1995.

Disabled Family: A family whose head, spouse, or sole member is a person with disabilities; or two or more persons with disabilities living together, or one or more persons with disabilities living with one or more live-in aides.

Elderly Person:  In accordance with HUD regulations this is a person who is at least 62 years of age.

Elderly Family: A family whose head,spouse,or sole member is a person who is at least 62 years of age; or two or more persons who are at least 62 years of age living together; or one or more persons who are at least 62 years of age living with one or more live in aids.

Elderly Housing:  Elderly Housing is a loose term indicating intended target group, for which the sponsor developed the housing.  The needs and concerns for elderly housing programs are often distinguishable from those impacting family housing. Elderly housing programs however, need to be distinguished from within multifamily housing as having a unique position in long term care concerning Medicare and Medicaid.
Enhanced Vouchers: As some for profit owners began to opt-out of the Section 8 program, congress authorized enhanced vouchers for residents currently residing in formerly assisted (section 8 project-based) properties. This was done to prevent forced displacement of residents for whom often times the rent would be beyond the tenant's means when the property was converted to market rate. So at Opt Out, qualified low income residents are issued tenant based vouchers. If they elect to remain at their current location, enhanced vouchers are issued to make up the difference between previously subsidized and new market rent levels. If the resident elects to leave the property, the voucher reverts to the normal payment standard for the area.

Fair Housing Act and Fair Housing Amendments (FHAA): Legislation first enacted in 1968 and expanded by amendments in1974 and 1988, which provides the Secretary of HUD with investigation and enforcement responsibilities for fair housing practices.

The Fair Housing Act (FHA) is a national policy to protect against violations of housing rights. FHA prohibits discrimination in housing based on race, color, national orgin, religion, sex, disability, and familial status. Some states include three additional protected classes to the above: age, sexual orientation and marital status.

It is unlawful to discriminate in housing (treat people differently) based on the above factors. FHA covers most housing with very few exceptions. It prohibits discrimination in the sale and rental of housing and in mortgage lending. Fair Housing means equal opportunity to housing for all. It means equal access to rental housing and homeowner opportunities.
Farmer Home Administration (FmHA): The Farmers Home Administration was the part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture whose purpose was to administer loans, grants, and related assistance for housing and community facilities for low-income rural persons and their communities, AAHSA members with projects funded through FmHA are usually Section 515 projects.

Federal Housing Administration (FHA) The Federal Housing Administration is a division of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). FHA

 |  CMS Login
175 Tri County Parkway | Cincinnati, OH 45246 | (513) 721-1025