Resource More Information

Fair Housing Act

U.S. Department of Justice
950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington D.C. 20530
Phone: 202-514-2000

Area(s) Served: Nationwide

Contracted Provider: Not Applicable


The Fair Housing Act, as amended in 1988, prohibits housing discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, and national origin. Its coverage includes private housing, housing that receives federal financial assistance, and state and local government housing. It is unlawful to discriminate in any aspect of selling or renting housing or to deny a dwelling to a buyer or renter because of the disability of that individual, an individual associated with the buyer or renter, or an individual who intends to live in the residence.

The Fair Housing Act requires owners of housing facilities to make reasonable exceptions in their policies and operations to afford people with disabilities equal housing opportunities. Complaints of Fair Housing Act violation may be filed with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

 |  CMS Login
175 Tri County Parkway | Cincinnati, OH 45246 | (513) 721-1025