News and Events

Monday, November 13, 2017

Nominate a special caregiver or colleague for COA’s Awards program

2017 Award Winners
2017 COA Award Winners

There is no better way to show someone that you care about the job they are doing than to nominate them for an award!

Please take time to nominate a friend, colleague, client or employee who deserves to be celebrated! Council on Aging is now accepting nominations for its 2018 Annual Awards Program. The awards recognize caregivers, volunteers and professionals in the field of aging who work to make life better for older adults and people with disabilities.

Click here for nomination form 

The nomination deadline have been extended to January 22, 2018.

The award categories are: 

OUTSTANDING PROFESSIONAL IN AGING  Honors an individual who consistently demonstrates all-around excellence in his or her professional arena. Nominees have established themselves as leaders in the field of aging and have made a significant contribution to services for older adults and their families in Southwestern Ohio. Award recipients are those who have had a profound and lasting impact through such endeavors as: teaching, research, advocacy, care management, planning, program development or organizational leadership. All nominees must be employed in COA’s service area: Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton or Warren counties. Past winners include: Rhonda Moore, ProSeniors; Suzanne Kathman, Mercy Neighborhood Ministries, Kim Clark, Council on Aging; Lynn Melzer, Cincinnati Recreation Commission; Ann Sutton Burke, Jewish Family Services.

OUTSTANDING DIRECT SERVICE PROVIDER (Professional or Volunteer) – Honors an individual who performs an outstanding job providing direct service to older adults or people with disabilities which enhances their quality of life and independence. The nomination must show that the nominee exemplifies a strong commitment to the rights of older adults and people with disabilities. All nominees must be employed in COA’s service area: Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton or Warren counties. Past winners include: Gail Gepsman Ziegler, Jewish Family Services; David Lytle, Clermont Senior Services; Rosalind Burnett, Interim Health Care; Margo McMurray, Council on Aging.

OUTSTANDING CAREGIVER AWARD – Honors a family or “informal” caregiver who does an outstanding job providing compassionate care for an older adult or person with disabilities by making his or her life easier, better and longer. The nomination must demonstrate that the nominee respects the rights of the care recipient and provides consistent dedication to the care of the older adult or person with disabilities. All nominees must reside in COA’s service area: which includes: Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton or Warren counties. Past Winners include: Marne Kappes, Hamilton; Mary McConnell, Butler County, Donald Neyer, Hamilton County; Mayme Gillaspy, Clermont County; Ron Hitchcock, Warren County

Award winners will be honored at COA's Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony, March 14, 2018 at the Sharonville Convention Center. The meeting will include a buffet lunch, brief overview of COAs 2017 Annual Report from CEO Suzanne Burke, and the awards ceremony.

COAs annual meeting and award ceremony is part of Forum on Aging, a two-day professional development conference for professionals in the aging and disbility services network. The conference is March 13-14 and features nationally recognized keynote speakers and workshops designed with today`s aging network professional in mind. Click here for more information on Forum on Aging.

Aging Updates

Join Our Mailing List
For Email Marketing you can trust

Recent Articles


 |  CMS Login
175 Tri County Parkway | Cincinnati, OH 45246 | (513) 721-1025