Information for Prospective PASSPORT Providers

COA administers several programs through which prospective providers may apply to provide services. These programs include:

  • Community-based, long-term care programs – PASSPORT and Assisted Living
  • Elderly Services Program (ESP) – offered in Butler, Clinton, Hamilton, and Warren counties
  • Programs funded by Title III of the Older Americans Act, Senior and Alzheimer State Funds

Among the services offered are adult day services, companion, emergency response systems, environmental services, home-delivered meals, congregate meals, independent living assistance, home medical equipment and supplies, home repair, homemaker, personal care, respite care, social work/counseling and transportation. Not all services are offered in all programs or counties.

General Application Information and Process

Depending on the COA program, interested businesses must submit either an application or a proposal and all required attachments.

PASSPORT and Assisted Living Program

Applications for the Home and Community-based Long Term Care Program (PASSPORT and Assisted Living) are accepted at any time. 

ESP, Title III and Alzheimer’s State-funded Services

Proposals for ESP (offered in Butler, Clinton, Hamilton and Warren counties), Title III of the Older Americans Act, and Alzheimer State Funded programs are accepted only during an open proposal period. A notice will be placed on the Service Provider section of our website when the open proposal periods begin. Click here for more information about becoming a provider for the Elderly Services Program, and here for Title III services.

PASSPORT and Assisted Living Waiver Provider Applications

Home and Community-based Long-Term Care (HCBLTC) is the state Medicaid program that funds PASSPORT and the Assisted Living Waiver program. These programs allow enrolled participants to receive authorized services in the home or in an assisted living facility at little or no cost to them.

All businesses that wish to provide HCBLTC services through these programs must be recommended by Council on Aging (COA) for certification by the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) and Ohio Department of Jobs & Family Services (ODJFS).

Becoming a Provider

In order for your agency to be considered for certification, you must meet the following conditions:

  1. Be a formally organized business with a physical facility, business telephone, and be registered with the state of Ohio.
  2. Currently provide the services for which you are seeking certification.
  3. Currently be billing and receiving payment for those services from two clients (non relatives) for at least three months.

HCBLTC applications require approval from COA, ODA, and ODJFS in order to be certified as a provider.

To become a CBLTC provider for the PASSPORT or Assisted Living Waiver program, providers should begin by submitting an application through the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) website.

If you are an existing CBLTC provider outside of COA’s five county service area (Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton and Warren counties) and wish to expand into our service area, or if your agency is already a COA contracted provider and you want to expand current services or counties, you must contact the Provider Services Department at

Application Process

Below is a brief overview of the process that will be followed for certification of your agency as a PASSPORT or Assisted Living Waiver program service provider.

  • Apply online via the Ohio Department of Aging website.
  • The Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) will be notified when an application is submitted.
  • ODA will contact the agency to request additional paperwork.
  • ODA will contact Council on Aging of Southwestern Ohio (COA) when a completed application packet has been submitted.
  • COA will contact the agency to conduct a pre-certification review.
  • The agency will be assigned a Contract Auditor. The Contract Auditor will contact the agency to schedule a pre-certification review/visit to determine if the agency meets all Conditions of Participation (COP) and Services Specifications (Specs).
  • After this review/visit, the agency will receive a Pre-Certification Summary letter.
  • The recommendation will be sent to ODA. ODA and ODJFS will make the final determination.
  • If ODA and ODJFS approve the certification, COA will be notified and an agreement will be sent via email to the agency for electronic signature.
  • Once COA receives the signed agreement from the agency, the agency will be able to receive referrals from COA.
  • If ODA or ODJFS denies certification, the agency will receive notification from ODA and will be ineligible to reapply for certification for one year.

*If at any time during this process there are changes to the agency or, if you wish to change/add/drop services or counties, you must contact COA’s Provider Services Department as soon as possible. Any discrepancies in the application material may result in the application being rejected by ODA, thus restarting the entire process.